President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed Zainab Shamsuna Ahmed, the Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning, as the chairman of a newly constituted Board of Directors of the Nigeria Bulk Electricity Trading Company Plc (NBET).

A statement issued by Yunusa Tanko Abdullahi, media and communications adviser to the minister, and dated May 6, 2020 said Marilyn Amobi was named Managing Director/ Chief Executive Officer.

Other members named as non-executive directors include one from the Ministry of Power, to be represented by a staff not below the level of a director; Alexander Ayoola Okoh, director from Bureau of Public Enterprises (80% Shareholder in NBET); Patience Oniha, Director-General of the Debt Management Office, and Ben Akabueze, Director-General, Budget Office of the Federation.

Others appointed as independent non-executive directors are Suleyman Ndanusa, a former Director-General of Securities and Exchange Commission, Mustapha Balarabe Shehu, a former President Nigeria Society of Engineers, and Adeyeye O. Adepegba.

The appointments take immediate effect, according to the statement.


Source: Business Day