The Rural Electrification Agency (REA) has signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with eight (8) Federal Universities and one Teaching Hospital for the first phase of the Federal Government’s Energizing Education Programme, Leadership reports.

The programme aims at lighting up 37 Federal Universities and 7 Teaching Hospitals in Nigeria through the utilisation of off-grid captive power plants in a bid to resolve power challenges in institutions of higher learning in the country. The first phase of the project will include 9 institutions, and should be completed in 2018, benefitting over 300,000 students and staff. Seven of the nine planned power plants (10.5MW out of a total of 26.56MW) will be fuelled by solar energy, in line with the Federal Government’s energy – mix policy.

The 8 institutions and 1 Teaching Hospital with whom REA signed the MoU are: Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University Bauchi, Bayero University Kano, Usumanu Danfodiyo University Sokoto, Federal University of Agriculture Makurdi, Nnamdi Azikwe University, Anambra, University of Lagos Akoka, Federal University of Petroleum Resources Delta, Obafemi Awolowo University and Obafemi Awolowo University Teaching Hospital in Bauchi, Kano, Sokoto, Markurdi, Anambra, Lagos, Delta, and Osun States respectively.