Prof-Chinelo-Nebo-300x159The Federal Government has reshuffled the supervisory board and management team of the electricity transmission company, the Transmission Company of Nigeria, TCN.

It has also set up a new advisory team to complement the management and board of TCN which is under a three-year management contract by Canadian firm, Manitoba Hydro International, MHI.

Appointed on the new TCN management team are Dr. Abubakar Tambuwal Atiku as Deputy Managing Director; Sunny Iroche (Director, Finance and Accounts); Halima Aliyu (Director, Human Resources and Corporate Services); T.O Utah (Director, Transmission Service Provider); M.M. Gumel (Director System Operations); Veronica Osuhor (Director Market Operations) and Allen Biakpara (Director Information/Communication Technology).

Others include Fatima Lawan (General Manager, Legal Services/Company Secretary), and Segun Olagunju who has been appointed as the General Manager, Public Affairs.

The transitional advisory support group is made up of erstwhile management staff of the TCN and the Niger Delta Power Holding Company, NDPHC.

Members of the advisory support group are Jonathan Ndiagwalukwe as its chairman, Dennis Ukwueze, Mr. B.T Danmagaji, John Ayodele and Mr. I Apuye.

A statement from the ministry of power in Abuja said that the decision to review the composition of the management and board of TCN was informed by its desire to further strengthen the capacity of TCN, preparatory to its increasing responsibilities in Nigeria’s power sector.

The statement informed that President Goodluck Jonathan had approved the new management staff of Nigerian extraction to work with Manitoba on alternate basis.

President Jonathan also approved the re-constitution of the supervisory board of the TCN with the addition of two representatives of state governments of the federation.

The board however retains its pioneer chairman, Haman Tukur, who is assisted by Akinsola Akinfemiwa.

Other members of the board are a representative of the ministry of power, Garba Sanusi; Prof. Peter Akpor (Rep of Attorney General of the Federation); Mrs. L. Shuaibu (Representative of Minister of Finance); Okwudili Ikejiani (Representative of Hon. Minister of Petroleum) and a representative of various power generation companies in the country, Mike Uzoigwe.

Also on the board are O.C. Akamnonu (Rep. of Discos), a former governor and minister, Dr. Sam Egwu, Jonathan Adole, Prof. Aako Ugbage, Dr. Ferguson Tobins, representative of the Manufacturers’ Association of Nigeria, MAN, Managing Director, TCN, Executive Director, Systems Operation (TCN), and two representatives of state governors.

The board which was initially constituted in the first quarter of 2013 is however alleged to have not held any official meeting since its constitution by Minister of Power, Prof. Chinedu Nebo.


Information from This Day was used in this report.